Music, Talk/Workshop, Zabbalang

Virtuoso Series I: Pluck

Organised by: Singapore Chinese Orchestra
  • Date:
    31 Jul - 8 Aug 2021
  • Time:
  • Duration:
  • Venue:
    Online (SISTIC Live)
    Online (SISTIC Live)Online (SISTIC Live)
  • Language:
    English / Chinese
  • Admission:
    Virtuoso Series I, II, III (31 Jul, 28 Aug & 25 Sep) Live concert: $20, $28
    Digital bundle: 1 for $15; Choose 2 for $18 or 3 for $27
  • Advisory:
    6 years old and above


Flying Fingers, Sparkling Tunes

Yangqin Principal Qu Jianqing, Sanxian Associate Principal Huang Guifang and Pipa Principal Yu Jia kick off the Virtuoso Series by exploring the "jeu perle" sound of the plucked strings section, presenting pieces that showcases a wide range of moods and expressions. Audiences are in for a treat with the various origins of solo pieces, ranging from ancient piece Lament at the Changmen Palace to folk tunes such as Tanci San Liu and Winter Ducks Frolicking in the Water. Joined by Xu Hui (guzheng) and Jing Po (daruan), the three virtuosos come together to perform the finale piece Night Thoughts, adapted from a Peking opera tune. Enjoy an evening of widely-loved Chinese musical Classics, and open your ears to the microcosm of crystalline perfection at their fingertips.

Virtuoso Series I: Pluck