Theatre

The Consultant

Organised by: Wag the Dog Theatre
  • Date:
    17 - 27 May 2018
  • Time:
    Tue - Fri : 8:00pm
    Sat : 3:00pm & 8:00pm
    Sun : 2:00pm & 7:00pm
  • Duration:
    1h 15min
  • Venue:
    Drama Centre Black Box
    Drama Centre Black BoxDrama Centre Black Box
  • Language:
    English
  • Admission:
    17 May, Thu, 8:00pm : $20
    18 May, Fri, 8:00pm : $35
    19 May, Sat, 3:00pm : $20
    19 May, Sat, 8:00pm : $40
    20 May, Sun, 2:00pm : $25
    20 May, Sun, 7:00pm : $30
    22 May, Tue, 8:00pm : $20
    23 May, Wed, 8:00pm : $35
    24 May, Thu, 8:00pm : $35
    25 May, Fri, 8:00pm : $40
    26 May, Sat, 3:00pm : $25
    26 May, Sat, 8:00pm : $40
    27 May, Sun, 2:00pm : $30
    27 May, Sun, 7:00pm : $40

    (This is a Free Seating Event)

Synopsis:

In Heidi Schreck's play, the unlikely colleagues are drawing paychecks at Sutton, Feingold, and McGrath, a small pharmaceutical advertising agency in New York that is in the throes of becoming a lot smaller thanks to the economic collapse of 2008. The firm has fallen on hard times, and Schreck's quirky characters, whether supremely capable or barely coping, know that their heads are on the chopping block. After a series of brutal layoffs a precocious young consultant is brought in to save one adman's job. Everyone in The Consultant is either giving or looking for advice, and not always in a logical place as Schreck creates worlds just slightly askew of normal. This hilarious and keenly observed play takes an intimate look at what we owe to others when everything around us is falling apart.

The Consultant